The Government of Andhra Pradesh has established Rajiv Gandhi University of Knowledge Technologies (RGUKT) in 2008 to cater to the educational needs of the meritorious rural youth of Andhra Pradesh.

Three IIITs (International Institute of Information Technologies) are established under RGUKT: one in Basara (Adilabad), one in Nuzivedu (Krishna) and one in Rajiv Knowledge Valley (Kadapa). These autonomous Institutes will specialize in teaching and research in Information Technology and other emerging disciplines under the control of a common university Governing Council and following a common syllabus.

The 3 new RGU IIITs are fully residential institutes. The intake of each RGU IIIT is 2,000 per year. Over 6000 students have been already admitted into the three RGU IIITs in the 2008 academic year into a integrated 6-year program. A total of 6,000 students will be admitted in 2009 academic year.

Contact Information
Prof. K. C. Reddy
Vice Chancellor (I/C)
Prof. S. Satyanarayana
Prof. Suguna Reddy
Dr. Rajendra Sahu
Director, RGUKT
IIIT Basar
Dr. Ibrahim Khan
Director, RGUKT
IIIT Nuzvi
Dr. Y. Krishna Reddy
Director, RGUKT
IIIT RK Valley
Governing Council of Rajiv Gandhi University of Knowledge Technologies
Dr. Raj Reddy
Chancellor & Chairman of the Governing Council
Mozah Bint Nasser University Professor
School of Computer Science
Carnegie Mellon University
Dr. N. Balakrishnan
Member of the Governing Council
Associate Director
Indian Institute of Science Bangalore
Dr. D. Acharya
Member of the Governing Council
Indian Institute of Technology Kharagpur
Dr. Kota Harinarayana
Member of the Governing Council
Raja Ramanna Fellow NAL
Former Vice-Chancellor of University of Hyderabad
Dr. K. C. Reddy
Vice Chancellor (I/c) & Member of the Governing Council
Andhra Pradesh State Council of Higher Education
C. R. Biswal, IAS
Ex officio Member of the Governing Council
Principal Secretary Higher Education Department
Government of Andhra Pradesh
Sameer Sharma, IAS
Ex officio Member of the Governing Council
Principal Secretary Government of Andhra Pradesh
IT and Communications Department
Dr. Rajeev Sangal
Member of the Governing Council
IIIT Hyderabad
Dr. M. Venkateswarlu
Member of the Governing Council
Director , Center for Education Technology & Learning Sciences
IIIT Hyderabad

Dr. Raj Reddy is a University Professor of Computer Science and Robotics in the School of Computer Science at Carnegie Mellon University. He was the founding Director of the Robotics Institute from 1979 to 1991 and was the Dean of School of Computer Science from 1991 to 1999. He comes from Katoor Village and attended ZP High School at Sri Kalahasti in Chittoor District.

He was the first Asian to receive, in 1994, the ACM Turing Award the highest award in Computer Science, for his work in the field of artificial intelligence. In 1984, he was awarded the Legion of Honor by the President Mitterand of France for his work in developing countries of the world. In 2001, he was awarded Padma Bhushan by the President of India, an award that recognizes distinguished service of a high order to the nation. In 2005, he received the Honda Prize for his contributions to Eco- Technologies and in 2006 received the Vannevar Bush Award, the highest award of National Science Foundation in United States, for his lifetime contributions to science and long-standing statesmanship in science on behalf of the nation.

He served as the co-chairman of the US President's Information Technology Advisory Committee (PITAC) from 1999-2001. He is a member of the National Academy of Engineering and the American Academy of Arts and Science. He is a recipient of ten honorary degrees from universities around the world. more..

Objectives of the University

  • To impart to each student broad skills of Learn to Learn, Learn to Think and Learn to Live

  • To reinforce core values of integrity, respect for all, and care for environment

  • To disseminate and advance knowledge in the emerging fields such as Information Technology, Biotechnology, etc

  • To make special provisions for integrated courses in humanities, social sciences and interdisciplinary areas to impart broad-based education including soft skills

  • To function as a resource center for knowledge management and entrepreneurship development in the Emerging Technologies

  • To establish close linkage with industry to make teaching, and research at the institutes relevant to the needs of the economy, at national and global level